top of page

An Ode To Music, Part I

I have entitled this part one as I anticipate there will be many more odes to music, such as wouldn’t be sufficient to include in just one post. Here, I will begin at least to touch on my unending love of music and share some of my most beloved tunes. In the midst of all the madness happening in the world and in our own personal lives, I wanted to make some space for that which has the aptitude to bring joy, a companion in moments of suffering and regardless of where you are from— music has this unifying ability to cross cultures and bring us all together to create such a sweet sense of unity. For me personally, music has always been a major (majjjooooorrrrr) part of my life although I unfortunately can’t create music nor sing, it's a real bummer, I know. I mean, look, give me a guitar and I can still remember certain chords. Gimme a triangle- I’m sure something nice can happen. The dream is to one day be able to play drums and learn some of my best-loved songs on the piano. One day. For now, I make up for my musical inabilities by curating— if I do say so myself, pretty banger playlists. I would liken my taste to be far reaching, I quite enjoy an array of different genres spanning across vast time periods. My playlists accompany me in almost every aspect of life, depending on what I am doing and how I am thus feeling I have a playlist for it all. When I am in the kitchen cooking. When I host dinner in my home. When I am on a road trip through the country. When I have the house to myself and the living room is calling my name to boogie. When I am in prayer and especially when I am going through the dark night of the soul. I am yet to work out how to bring music out with me when I go for an early morning surf, now that would be incredibly cinematic and dreamy. There are many moments I have in life when I think “if this were movie scene, this tune would work so well” I know I am not alone in this. I must stop here because I know I could keep rambling on and on, I’ll need to save stories for future posts. Below I will share some sweet tunes I have discovered lately that have been transporting me to other worlds. I have been reminded of my fervent love of travelling and the privilege and importance of being able to immerse oneself in cultures unlike my own. The beauty and rich diversity of the world we live in! That which is unattainable to go travelling to for the most part at this surreal time in history. May you find a melody below to dance unashamedly in the living room to, another to aid you in contemplating and revelling in the beauty of nature and to enjoy the diverse wonder of other languages and genres unlike what you may never have experienced before, wherever in the world it is you may find yourself.


“A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.” ― Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Ayonha - HAMID EL SHARI (link to spotify)


Habibi Funk. A new genre of music I had not known existed up until just recently. 'Eclectic Music From The Arab World' is how this compilation of music I found on Spotify describes Habibi Funk. I have incessantly been playing this song on repeat, much to the delight of those around me. (aha) I imagine being somewhere in Europe, the golden yolk is setting beyond the horizon and you are sipping on aperol spritz, ready for a little boogie and a dip in the Mediterranean sea.


photo taken on film by yours truly in Taormina, Sicilia, June 2018



La Coladera - FREH KODJA (link to spotify)


If this tune does not entice you to get down for a boogie then I am thoroughly convinced that there is no tune on earth that will. At the very least, you will be slightly moving your body. Something. Anything. I don't know what you call a banger but this here, my friends, is a certified banger. Every single one of my friends I have showed this song too, dance moves ensued. You're welcome. (below is real live footage of this fact)



This is such an enchanting melody. I reminisce walking through the chaotic and beautiful streets of Varanasi in India, traversing through the mountains in Nagarkot, Nepal and on the back of a motorbike in Bali, Indonesia. How beautiful is the album artwork also!

little ole me in Varanasi, India, 2017 taken by my dear friend Susi Best.


Soför Bey - ALTIN Gün (link in spotify)


If there ever was a movie to be made on my life, I would want this to be included in the soundtrack. It sounds like the backing track to a 70's robbery heist written and directed by Wes Anderson. Also, talk about band goals below! They're a Turkish psychedelic folk group from Amsterdam, the Netherlands. (!!!)


Sugar - CHAKA KHAN


Chaka Khan. "Queen of Funk". Enough said. Now, listen and watch and please- move your body.


Son Kunda - SUSSO (link to spotify)


I thought the bio behind this song was quite beautiful and had to share-

"Susso, aka bassist / producer Huw Bennett, creates music inspired by, and directly sampling, the magnificent sounds of the Mandinka people, recorded during a recent trip to Gambia. Initially travelling with the aim of gaining perspective as a musician and to discover a new world of music first hand, Huw found himself humbled by such a welcoming community of artists, mostly belonging to the celebrated Suso and Kuyateh griot families."

photo taken on film by yours truly Swaziland, Africa, June 2019.



I have a very profound love affair with instrumental music. I could write up an assortment of posts sharing melodic tunes that have become to me, so sacred and treasured a place in this heart of mine. The unfathomed way they speak without words, beckoning you into another world that has the ability to reach into the depths of the soul. I find myself continually transported to an ethereal place, a heavenly realm where I am immersed in honey glory. This album was released just recently- I implore you to find space and time to revel in this. It is so incredibly soothing, as though a healing balm to calm every anxious thought and to bestow unto you a sweet contentedness for your heart. Mmmmm. Enjoy.


photo taken on film by yours truly in Byron Bay, Australia, Janurary, 2019



bottom of page