top of page

The Sun and Her Flowers

Updated: Jun 14, 2021



I find it a strange and peculiar thing, to admire an artwork or a poem and praise the artist, struck by their gift and with deep gratitude we thank them for enlightening and encouraging our hearts. Yet, when we look upon flowers, take in the majesty of a sunset, the brilliance of a sweeping landscape, wonder and marvel at the creatures that live in the sea, do we ever stop to wonder at the Great Artist whose hand created these? At the intelligence and individuality of each human, the intricacies in which we were each formed. The length and breadth of the world and all who live in it, and beyond into the stratosphere of the seemingly endless universe with all its galaxies and stars, billons and counting. Nature, in all its glorious profusion, surely points to a Grand Designer? To comprehend such lofty and wild thoughts can sometimes be all too much for the grown up person, with all our ideologies and opinions and experiences and beliefs. But... what if? What if there is something, or... someone behind all that exists and is the reason why we live, breathe, move and have our being. Imagine, if they wanted to be found? They want to be known? And most importantly, can be.


I have recently found myself indulging in the work of the famed poet, Mary Oliver. Below is one of a few I have found a home in that one of my friends recently showed me, and I think ties sweetly in with my little musing.


I have refused to live locked in the orderly house of reasons and proofs. The world I live in and believe in Is wider than that. And anyway, what’s wrong with Maybe?

You wouldn’t believe what once or twice I have seen. I’ll just tell you this: only if there are angels in your head will you ever, possibly, see one.


Sometimes, it's not always in having the right answers to everything, but in asking the right ones. To remain as childlike as possible, growing in wisdom. Of course, there are some mysteries that will always remain so on this side of eternity, but I do believe there are greater revelations to be discovered that beckon us to render good to the earth around us and to each other. To live a more fulfilled, contented and beautiful life on this earth. If only, we would be brave enough to ask, to keep on asking, to keep on seeking and to listen. We were created to dream and to wonder and to enjoy and find comfort in all the exquisite things that I believe, God has created for us to find such sweet pictures of inspirations in.


An internal sigh at the sight of a single flower is always a good place to begin, and shoving them in your face as I often do and now have photographic evidence of, does wonders for the soul strangely enough.



photographs taken of myself and of my dear friend, nadine. we took in turns to capture each other amongst a field of yellow flowers that live by the side of the road that only bloom in the month of may each year.


In love,

and flowers,


R

XO


Ps the title of this blog post is also inspired by author, Rupi Kaur and one of her books with the same title. 🌻✨




bottom of page